23rd Annual American Legion Veterans' Day Race

Friday, 11 Nov 1960 at Legion Hall in Uptown Butte - Stadler Again Leads Butte High

At 10:49 a.m. in front of the Legion Club at 16 East Broadway the first round of Butte's traditional 11-bomb salute to the war dead exploded, with another exploding every minute. After the echo of the last blast cleared the air, the starter's pistol rang out, sending race contestants on their way.

Stewart Stadler, the eventual winner, was all by himself in the lead after only five blocks on East Broadway. Stadler stretched his lead to a block's length by the time he turned onto Mercury, and he maintained that margin while (as reported in the Standard) "appearing to be conserving his strength for a speedy finish." Stadler was clocked in 16:01, three seconds slower than his winning time from a year ago, and 4 seconds slower than the course record which was set in 1952 by Boys' Central runner Chuck Smith.

There were 18 entrants from Butte High, 10 from Butte Central and 1 from Anaconda, and according to the Montana Standard "all finished the grueling event."

In the second year of the team challenge to win the 7-year C. Owen Smithers Trophy, Butte High doubled it cushion over Central to 35 to 6.

From noon to 6 p.m. after the race, Legion activities shifted to the post's new hall at 1745 Harrison Ave where there was an open house, dinner and dance.

HS Boys' Team Scores: 1, Butte High, 17; Butte Central, 3; Anaconda, 1.

Runners finishing outside the top six scoring positions:

BH: Alvin Baker, Roger Barrett, Don Brunnell, Fred Craigvick, Gary Dunford, John Keskitala, Dave Koskimaki, Frank Koskimaki, John Kratofil, John Laramie, Russell Lewis, William Smart, Albert Tregidga, Jack Walch.

BC: Paul Hovan, Alan O'Leary, Gary Hicks, Marty Ueland, John Sheehan, Mike Crowley, Mike Lowney, Ed Keyes, Kevin Gregier.



Jim McArthur (#5) of Boys' Central shown finishing with a flurry in his desperate attempt to pass Butte High's Curt Peterson. Peterson and McArthur finished third and fourth place, respectively.



From left, race co-founder and chairman C. Owen Smithers, Sr.; **HS Boys' 2.7 mile place winners:** 1, Stewart Stadler, BH, 16:01; 2, Bill Kasum, BH; 3, Curt Peterson, BH; 4, Jim McArthur, BC; 5, Bill Thompson, BH; 6, Fred Martin, Anaconda; and Martin Kearney, race co-chairman.